Review: Somebody Give This Heart a Pen (Sophia Thakur)

45998211._SY475_Genre: Young Adult Poetry
Publisher:
 Walker Books Ltd
Publication Date: October 3rd 2020
Format: Paperback
Source: Pansing Books
Page Count: 107

Blurb from Goodreads:

A compelling collection of poems that explores the emotions and experiences of growing up as a mixed-race woman.

From acclaimed performance poet Sophia Thakur comes a powerful new collection of poems exploring issues of identity, difference, perseverance, relationships, fear, loss and joy. The collection is arranged as life is: from youth to school, to home life, falling in love and falling straight back out again. The poems draw on the author’s experience as a young mixed-race young woman trying to make sense of a lonely and complicated world. With a strong narrative voice and emotional empathy, this is poetry that will resonate with all young people, whatever their background, and whatever their dreams. As she says, she hopes the poems will help readers “grow through what they go through”.


RATING

3 STARS

HERE’S MY REVIEW!

It has been a while since I read a poetry book. I don’t usually gravitate towards poetry, but once in a while I would love to read some to broaden my reading picks. I’ve read Milk and Honey and The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur and I enjoy them.

This book is divided to a few sections which are the process of life, from growing, waiting, breaking and growing again. It’s a poetry full of stories about race, politics, love, family, friendship and heartbreak.

I love parts where the author writes about her mom’s perseverance in life and I can totally relate it to mine. Mothers are always so kind yet so brave in dealing with obstacles. I cannot relate on the love and heartbreak part but I can feel the pain that the author feels.

Some poetry books are underdone, like just when you read someone’s diary. However, Somebody Give This Heart A Pen is not. The writing is just so brilliant with insightful and perceptive words that makes you crave for more.

There are many great verses in this one but this one verse truly caught my attention. Here it is:

“Do you find peace when you are alone? Or do you claw your laptop open. Chain you eyes to you phone. Trade your thoughts for someone else’s? Too busy to impose on yourself for a moment.”

Thank you so much Pansing Books for sending me a finished copy of Somebody Give This Heart A Pen.

X

Sabrina

Advertisements

ARC Review: In the Key of Code (Aimee Lucido)

43261110.jpg

Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: September 24th 2019
Format: ARC Paperback
Source: Pansing Books
Page Count: 416

Blurb from Goodreads:

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.

 

 


RATING

4 STARS

HERE’S MY REVIEW!

This book is such a fast and fun read! I read it just within a day and I cannot stop reading it because the story is captivating! I also love reading books with verses, so it is totally a plus point. Even though books with verses are short, they are enjoyable and meaningful enough to read. This is a book that you can read in one go.

Once I laid my eyes on the synopsis, I totally wanted to pick this up. I love reading and also learning new things. Since this book revolves around rare stuffs discussed in YA/children like coding, poetry and music, this is a must read. I have never come across books which have many subject combinations like this one. If I were given a chance to turn back time to change my course in school, I would definitely choose computer science because the subject is interesting to learn. To be honest whilst reading I was confused with the terms related to coding and music because it is new knowledge for me, I cannot help but feel interested to learn and research more about this area of study.

Not only the subject captivates me, I also love for the fact that Emmy is a wise and genuine person. She loves music so much that she relates everything in her life to music. I love her bravery to try out new things such as coding because not everyone is willing to change or add new interests. The message here is you can always find the things you love in unexpected places. Discovering what’s best for you may take time and it is okay to keep trying to find what’s best for you. Besides, the book tells us about the meaning of friendship, when everyone is trying to fit in just to please others. The book also revolves around family, which is one of my most favorite themes in books.

Aimee Lucido is such a genius to combine very distinct subjects into one book and write them wonderfully. I totally recommend you guys to check this book out when it is available in book stores.

Thank you Pansing Books for providing me this ARC!

X

Sabrina

Review: The Weight of Water (Sarah Crossan)

45732103

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: May 2nd 2019
Format: Paperback
Source: Pansing Books
Page Count: 259

Blurb from Goodreads:

Armed with a suitcase and an old laundry bag filled with clothes, Kasienka and her mother leave Poland and head for the UK to find her father. Life is lonely for Kasienka. At home her mother’s heart is breaking and at school Kasienka finds it impossible to make new friends. While the search continues, Kasienka is kept afloat by William, a boy she meets at the local pool who understands what it means to lose someone and who swims with Kasienka towards her new life.


RATING

4 STARS

HERE’S MY REVIEW!

The Weight of Water tells the reader on how to pick up the pieces when everything you know is turned on its head and you have to start all over again. The moment I laid my eyes on the synopsis, I knew that this book is going to be great in terms of self-exploration. I love reading self-exploration books as it gives us an idea on what are truly made of based on our intellectual and spiritual capacities.

At first, I didn’t expect this to be a poetry book. The moment I opened the book and flipped the pages, the content was written in verses. I don’t usually opt for poetry books because I don’t find them appealing at times. However, once I started reading it, I fell in love with the story.

I mark this as Young Adult because the issues discussed in the book were mostly about teenagers facing difficulties on family matters and adapting in the society. Mature audiences will appreciate the book even better because there were adult issues faced by the protagonist’s mother. The protagonist faced such an ordeal in her life, with abrupt changes such as relocating to another country with different mother tongue with no money and jobs to support them.

I have so many favorite verses in The Weight of Water and this verse is one of them:

We weren’t on a ship.
Immigrants don’t arrive on
Overcrowded boats any more,
Swarming wet docks like rats.
It isn’t 1920 and it isn’t Ellis Island –
Nothing as romantic as a view of
Lady Liberty
To welcome us.

This story is very touching but at the same time, enjoyable to read. I would definitely pick up any poetry book by Sarah Crossan anytime soon to enjoy more of her masterpieces!

Thank you Pansing Books for providing me this awesome review copy!

X

Sabrina